Phlebotomy is an attractive career for people across the U.S. It’s an essential job in the medical industry, and many phlebotomists enjoy autonomy and independence. Whether you’re working in a blood bank, an emergency department at a hospital or a research lab, you need to know the phlebotomy certification requirements by state.
If you’re considering pursuing a career in phlebotomy, you’ll need to ensure you’re qualified and certified up to a certain standard. Currently, there are no federal requirements for licensure or certification. The rules for phlebotomy are set individually by each state.
Every state has different requirements for its phlebotomists. There are just four states which require a certification or license to draw blood. But that doesn’t mean just anyone can become a phlebotomist. You still need to have a valid certification or diploma to be chosen by an employer.
Table of Contents:
In this guide, we’re going to look at the requirements for phlebotomy for each American state. We’ll analyze in further detail the four states which require licensing, and we’ll look at the education and qualifications you’ll need in the other states.
The southern state of Alabama is not one of the states which require licensing to become a phlebotomist. However, you will need to complete a full phlebotomy training program. These come in a variety of formats. You can take a short certificate program at a community college, or you can enroll in a two-year associate degree program.
Most people choose to take the shorter courses to become phlebotomists – but if you other ambitions in the medical field, it might be a good idea to complete the associate degree.
Some of Alabama’s best phlebotomy programs include:
Alaska is another state that doesn’t require certification or licensing. However, certification may help you to earn more. Without certification, pay starts at just $9 per hour, but certified phlebotomists earn an average of $35,000 – higher than the national average. It’s also harder to become employed if you’re not certified. Employers are far more likely to choose candidates with the relevant certifications.
You can find Alaska phlebotomy programs at the following places of study:
You won’t specifically need certification or licensing to practice phlebotomy in Arizona. However, you do need to complete an accredited training program. This will involve basic CPR and First Aid, as well as the core tents of subjects like anatomy, physiology, and of course venipuncture.
To join one of these courses, you must be over the age of 18 and have graduated high school (or hold an equivalent qualification).
Institutes offering these courses include:
Certification isn’t required in Arkansas at a state level, but it may be required by individual employers. Most phlebotomists in Arkansas train through accredited programs and some go on to get their certification at a later date.
Arkansas phlebotomy courses can be completed at a variety of community colleges, technical schools, and medical institutes. Many of them take less than one year – in fact, some take a matter of weeks. Students must learn the basics of venipuncture, as well as the theory behind bloodwork, human anatomy and the safe processes for handling human fluids.
If you’re hoping to study phlebotomy in Arkansas, here are some schools you can look at:
The Sunshine State is one of the four US states which does require a phlebotomy certification. This will involve training, some level of clinical practice, and a written examination. Certification can take up to two years. Once obtained, you must renew your certification every subsequent two years to prove you still have what it takes.
In California, you can become a Limited Phlebotomy Technician (the lowest level of certification), a Certified Phlebotomy Technician 1 (which requires the completion of additional classes and training) or a Certified Phlebotomy Technician 2 (the highest level, requiring at least 1040 hours of experience in phlebotomy).
Training providers in California include:
The state of Colorado also requires certification to become a phlebotomist. As well as completing your training, you’ll need to sit an exam and pass the requirements to get certified by a regulated body.
The institutes where you can learn phlebotomy in Colorado include:
To become a phlebotomist in Connecticut, you’ll need to complete an accredited training course. These can be extended courses, up to two years, or shorter intensive courses usually offered by community colleges. Though certification is not required in this state, many qualified phlebotomists choose to become certified to improve their employment prospects.
Connecticut phlebotomy courses are offered at:
There are no certification requirements in the state of Delaware, but you may need to become certified to improve your chances of finding employment. The minimum standards in this state are to have completed training on an accredited course.
You can find phlebotomy courses in Delaware at the following providers:
Certification or licensure for phlebotomists is not required in the state of Florida. All you’ll need to do to become a phlebotomist in Florida is complete an accredited training course. However, your chances of employment may improve if you acquire the certification, which is always worth considering once you’re qualified.
To study phlebotomy in Florida, contact one of the following:
The state of Georgia is another region which requires no legal certification to practice phlebotomy. However, many employers will specify that they will only consider candidates that are certified. Though it’s not mandatory, certification is recommended if you want to climb the career ladder.
If you’re hoping to pursue a career in phlebotomy in the state of Georgia, these schools offer in-depth training which can prepare you for certification:
Like most states, to become a phlebotomist in the state of Hawaii, you’ll need to complete a training course accredited by the American Society of Clinical Pathologists.
There are just a small number of training providers on the island of Hawaii, including:
Those looking for a career in healthcare in the state of Idaho can take up phlebotomy without needing to become certified. You’ll need to complete an accredited training course. However, some employers may stipulate that certification is required – this is at the discretion of each workplace.
If you’d like to study phlebotomy in Idaho with a view to becoming certified, this is where you can find courses:
To become a phlebotomist in the state of Illinois, you’ll need to pass a specific training program. This program must be accredited by the National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS) or the American Society of Clinical Pathologists. After completing the course, you may wish to become certified nationally, which can improve your chances of employment and career progress.
The basic training you need to start your career can be obtained at the following institutes:
The great state of Indiana doesn’t require any licensing or certification – however, it does require that you pass a training course accredited by one of the leading phlebotomy bodies. The main ones are the National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Services (NAACLS) and the American Society of Clinical Pathologists, though there are others.
If you’re planning to kick-start your phlebotomy career in Indiana, here’s where you can study:
Again, there are no certification or licensing requirements for phlebotomists in the state of Iowa. However, you may choose to become certified if you hope to bag one of the best phlebotomy jobs. Being certified is also useful if you plan to move out of state at some point.
Here are some of the top institutes for learning the practice of phlebotomy in Iowa:
In Kansas, phlebotomists aren’t required to be licensed or certified. Many phlebotomists do choose to take these additional courses to improve their chances of employment with a respected clinic or hospital.
If you want to get started in phlebotomy within the state of Kansas, you can contact one of the following:
Phlebotomists in the state of Kentucky aren’t required to be certified at state-level. However, many employers require candidates to be certified to ensure a minimum standard across the board. If you want to be a phlebotomist in Kentucky, you’ll need to pass an accredited training course, which you can find here:
Louisiana is one of the four US states that require all phlebotomists become licensed and certified. Licensing and certification require extra study after your original qualification, and you’ll need to clock a certain number of hours performing phlebotomy procedures.
If you want to study phlebotomy in Louisiana, you can find great courses here:
To study phlebotomy in Maine, you need to be 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED. A health assessment is also usually required, as you will be working with bodily fluids that could become contaminated.
You’ll also need to complete an accredited training course, which you can find at the following locations:
Although there are a small number of states that require certification in phlebotomy, Maryland is not one of them. However, many phlebotomists choose to acquire certification to boost their pay, climb the career ladder and make themselves more attractive to employers.
The first step towards becoming a phlebotomist in Maryland is to complete an accredited training course. You can find these at:
Phlebotomy students in Massachusetts don’t need to become certified – but many employers seek certified phlebotomists to ensure a certain standard of practice. The first step to becoming a phlebotomist in Massachusetts is to finish an accredited course. This should involve plenty of classroom hours, as well as time in a clinic so students can practice.
Massachusetts offers a range of different phlebotomy courses and programs:
Michigan has no state-level requirements for phlebotomist – though most respected employers will require their candidates to be certified. This ensures that they are hiring experienced professionals. To start your training, you’ll need a high school diploma (or equivalent), you’ll need to be over 18 and able to pass health and background checks.
To start studying phlebotomy in Michigan, you can apply to join one of these courses:
Though you won’t need a national certification to find work as a phlebotomist in Minnesota, it’s still recommended that you become certified after you finish a phlebotomy course. Courses are easy to discover in the state of Minnesota – here are just a few of the options:
There’s no state-wide requirement to get a certification if you want to become a phlebotomist in Mississippi. To start your training, you must be 18 years old, have a high school diploma and pass a range of health and background checks. After training, many people choose to become nationally certified, so it pays to select a course that will prepare you for this exam.
Here are some of the courses available in the state of Mississippi:
Like many other states, Missouri doesn’t explicitly require a certification. However, many employers might require certification to ensure that all staff will have a baseline of competency in practice.
You’ll also need to pass an accredited training course, which can be found at a multitude of local institutes and colleges:
You don’t need to pursue a traditional degree route to become a phlebotomist in Montana. You can qualify in as little as twelve months – some courses are even shorter. There’s no state-level certification required in Montana, but many people choose to become nationally certified anyway. This means they’re covered if they move to another state, and it gives them a good shot at better employment.
If you want to become a phlebotomist in Montana, take a look at these favorite places of study:
In Nebraska, you won’t need to have a license, but many employers do require certification. It’s not a legal requirement, but it will help you gain employment once you’re a qualified phlebotomist. To start your training, contact one of the following places of study:
The state of Nevada is one of four which requires phlebotomists to be fully licensed and certified. You’ll be classed as a Lab Assistant, which means you must complete the ASCP National Phlebotomy Technician Exam. You’ll then be qualified to obtain the Nevada Lab Assistant License, which is a prerequisite.
You can find training in Nevada at the following locations:
There are few requirements to become a phlebotomist in New Hampshire. You’ll need to pass an accredited training course first. To do this, you must be 18 or over, and able to pass various health and background checks. Once you pass your training, you’ll be a qualified phlebotomist. However, many employers ask that candidates become nationally certified, so it’s worth choosing a course that will prepare you for this exam.
Colleges and schools offering phlebotomy courses in New Hampshire include:
Certification is not 100% necessary in the state of New Jersey. However, getting nationally certified as a phlebotomist will give you a competitive advantage when it comes to finding work.
You can find phlebotomy training courses in New Jersey at the following schools and colleges:
According to the New Mexico Medical Board, phlebotomists in the state don’t necessarily need to be certified. But those who do take the time and effort to obtain national certification usually find that they can apply for better jobs. They may also notice that their pay is higher than uncertified phlebotomists.
Courses in New Mexico can be found here:
Just four US states require phlebotomists to hold a national certification. New York is not one of them – however many phlebotomists in the state become certified to give themselves an advantage over the competition. This helps in finding employment and climbing the career ladder.
If you want to pursue the field of phlebotomy in the state of New York, you can become qualified on one of these courses:
North Carolina is another state which requires no certification or licensing for phlebotomists. This means that you could technically become fully qualified in less than a year. Some courses take just one semester to complete. However, many employers will look for candidates that have obtained national certification, so it may be worth choosing a course that prepares you for this next step.
To study phlebotomy in North Dakota, you’ll need to be 18 or over, and you must pass a background check and a drug screening. Many training providers will also ask for photo identification and a general health check.
Phlebotomy requires long hours around patients that are ill, so your immune system must be strong. You won’t need to be certified to practice phlebotomy in North Dakota, though many employers do ask for national certification.
Ohio doesn’t have any state requirement for certification, but many employers will demand that applicants are certified. This is especially true in the metropolitan areas and big cities like Cleveland and Cincinnati.
To start your phlebotomy training in Ohio, you’ll need to be over the age of 18 and have a high school diploma or equivalent. Some employers provide on-the-job training, but many people prefer to train in this discipline first.
You can find appropriate training programs here:
Certification is not strictly required in the state of Oklahoma, but you’ll need to complete an accredited training program. This will give you the skills, theoretical knowledge and hands-on experience you need to become a successful phlebotomist.
Students hoping to become a phlebotomist in Oregon won’t need to be certified or licensed. However, obtaining this additional certification will certainly make them look more appealing in the eyes of an employer. Some employers even stipulate that all candidates must be certified. If you’re hoping to start your training, you’ll need to be 18 years old with a high school diploma or equivalent.
Places of study include:
Phlebotomy is a fast-growing career path in Pennsylvania, and the good news is you don’t need to be certified to pursue it as a job. You’ll need to be over the age of 18 and have a high school diploma or equivalent to secure a place on a training course. Most courses also require a health assessment and background check. If you wish to become certified at a later date, this is also an option.
You can train at these locations in Pennsylvania:
The small state of Rhode Island doesn’t have any certification or licensing demands of phlebotomists. However, many hospitals, clinics, and blood banks will only accept employees that are nationally certified. Becoming certified, while not a prerequisite, is also a good idea for those who may consider moving to another state in the future.
If you’re hoping to study phlebotomy in Rhode Island, here are some of the best training facilities:
Certification and licensing are not required to practice phlebotomy in South Carolina – however, you will need a high school diploma or equivalent. This will allow you to apply for an accredited phlebotomy training course. On these programs, you’ll learn the skills and gain the experience you need to be a successful phlebotomist.
Here are some of the best places of study in the state:
The requirements for phlebotomists vary between states. In South Dakota, there’s no requirement to become certified to practice – though many phlebotomists due pursue national certification. This makes them more appealing to employers and usually results in better pay.
If you’re over 18 and have a high school diploma, you can study at the following places in South Dakota:
If you want to be a phlebotomist in Tennessee, you won’t need to be certified or licensed. You will, however, need to have passed an accredited training course. Of course, many qualified phlebotomists then go on to become certified. This improves their employment prospects and gives them the freedom to practice phlebotomy all over the U.S.
To study phlebotomy in Tennessee, contact one of the following organizations:
The state of Texas doesn’t legally require phlebotomists to be certified, as it’s an unregulated industry. However, most experienced phlebotomists will advise new graduates to pursue certification. It can open many doors and lead to higher pay in the medical profession.
If you’re ready to get started in your Texas phlebotomy career, here’s where you can begin your studies:
You won’t need any certification or license to practice phlebotomy in Utah. However, you might wish to pursue certification at a later date to improve your employment chances.
If you want to study phlebotomy in Utah, here are some of the foremost training facilities:
To practice phlebotomy in Vermont, it’s not compulsory that you are nationally certified. Training courses are available for all those aged 18+ with a high school diploma or equivalent. However, if you’d like to seek suitable employment at a hospital or clinic, the employer may require that you prove certification.
To get started on your training journey, contact one of the following places of study in the state of Vermont:
Phlebotomy is an increasingly popular career option in the state of Virginia. The good news is that you don’t need to be certified or licensed, and most people finish their studies in a matter of months. To become qualified, you can study at one of the following:
Washington is the final state which requires all phlebotomists to be licensed and certified. As well as having the relevant training, you’ll need to complete AIDS training, verification, and have statements to verify they are in good physical and mental health. Your certification will last for two years and must be renewed on your birthday with some additional hours of study.
To kick-start your phlebotomy training in Washington, here are some of the top state facilities:
There aren’t any licensing or certification requirements in the state of West Virginia. That said, many phlebotomists working in the state due pursue certification, which can increase pay and open doors to better jobs. If you hope to become certified at some point, make sure you choose an accredited course approved by the American Society of Clinical Pathologists.
You can find such courses at these schools:
While the state of Wisconsin doesn’t have any federal requirement for phlebotomy certification, those who are nationally certified are more likely to find work than those without certification.
If you’re hoping to pursue a career in phlebotomy in Wisconsin, you’ll need to be over the age of 18 and have a high school diploma or equivalent. You may also be asked to complete background and health checks before being accepted onto a course.
You can find courses at the following schools and colleges:
Last but not least, the state of Wyoming – there are no certification or licensing requirements here. Most phlebotomists due pursue national certification to boost their career prospects. Phlebotomists in Wyoming can earn around $30,000 per year, but those who are certified may be eligible to apply for promotions and more superior roles.
To start your Wyoming phlebotomy course, get in touch with one of the following institutes:
So there you have it – the rules about phlebotomy certification in every U.S. state. Becoming a phlebotomist is an appealing career path for many. Whether you decide to become certified or not, studying phlebotomy can open many doors and lead to a well-paid and successful career in the healthcare industry.
Does Being Overweight Mean That It’s More Difficult to Get a Job?
20 Essential Tips for Making it Through Long Shifts at Work
10 Must-Know Tips for Avoiding Burnout in Your Healthcare Career
How to Overcome Your Fear of Needles and Sharp Objects
Copyright 2018 PhlebotomyExaminer